January 11, 2023

U2 “Songs Of Surrender” album for 2023


Share this...


Songs Of Surrender, a collection of 40 seminal U2 songs, re-recorded and reimagined for 2023, will be released on Friday 17th March.

Songs Of Surrender, curated and produced by The Edge, sees the band revisit some of the most celebrated songs of their 40+ year career, including ‘With Or Without You‘, ‘One‘, ‘Beautiful Day‘, ‘Sunday Bloody Sunday‘ and ‘Invisible‘, for a musical reimagining resulting in a completely new recording of each track, to include the arrangements and, in some cases, new lyrics.

Music allows you to time travel,” explained The Edge, “And we became curious to find out what it would be like to bring our early songs back with us to the present day and give them the benefit, or otherwise, of a 21st century reimagining.

The Edge continued explaining “What started out as an experiment quickly developed into a personal obsession as so many of our songs yielded to a new interpretation. Intimacy replaced post punk urgency. New tempos, new keys, and in some cases new chords and new lyrics arrived. A great song, it turns out is kind of indestructible.

The process of selecting which songs to revisit started with a series of demos. I looked at how a song would hang together if all but the bare essential elements were taken away. The other main aim was to find ways to bring intimacy into the songs, as most of them were originally written with live concert performance in mind. 

Reviewing these sketch recordings with producer Bob Ezrin, it was very easy to see the ones that worked straight off the bat and those that needed more work. We all got into the sensibility of less is more.”

The Edge adds, “Hearing the songs interact, and finding the running orders for the four albums was really thrilling; finding the surprising segues, getting a chance to DJ. Once we had four distinct albums it was easy to see who would be the figurehead for each one.”


The 40 newly recorded tracks are collected together under each of the four band member names across four separate ‘albums‘.

Side 1 – The Edge 
1. One  
2. Where The Streets Have No Name  
3. Stories For Boys  
4. 11 O’Clock Tick Tock  
5. Out Of Control  
6. Beautiful Day 
7. Bad 
8. Every Breaking Wave  
9. Walk On (Ukraine) 
10. Pride (In The Name Of Love) 
Side 2 – Larry 
1. Who’s Gonna Ride Your Wild Horses 
2. Get Out Of Your Own Way 
3. Stuck In A Moment You Can’t Get Out Of 
4. Red Hill Mining Town 
5. Ordinary Love 
6. Sometimes You Can’t Make It On Your Own 
7. Invisible  
8. Dirty Day 
9. The Miracle Of Joey Ramone 
10. City Of Blinding Lights  

Side 3 – Adam 
1. Vertigo 
2. I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For  
3. Electrical Storm 
4. The Fly 
5. If God Will Send His Angels   
6. Desire 
7. Until The End Of The World  
8. Song For Someone 
9. All I Want Is You 
10. Peace On Earth 

Side 4 – Bono
1. With Or Without You 
2. Stay 
3. Sunday Bloody Sunday 
4. Lights Of Home 
5. Cedarwood Road 
6. I Will Follow 
7. Two Hearts Beat As One 
8. Miracle Drug 
9. The Little Things That Give You Away 
10. 40 

You can pre order it here: SONGS OF SURRENDER – PRE ORDER


Pride (In The Name Of Love)‘, the first track from this brand new set of recordings is released today and you can listen it here below.

Songs Of Surrender is available in the following formats: 

Full 40 track Digital
40 track 4 CD Super Deluxe Hardback Collector’s Edition;
40 track 4 LP Super Deluxe Hardback Collector’s Boxset; 
20 track deluxe CD; 
16 track 180 gram black vinyl;
16 track standard CD; and
16 track classic white cassette.

Upcoming Events


6LACK brought the ‘No More Lonely Nights’ tour to The Aztec Theater
RINGO STARR brought a magical night to the ACL Live at The Moody Theater
TESLA brought a night full of nostalgia and great rock to The Aztec Theatre
J BALVIN bringing the party to the whole world!
MORRISSEY announces shows in Las Vegas ‘Despite Recent Fiascoes’