February 10, 2023

Moby announces new album “Resound NYC”


Share this...


This is the 20th studio album of music pioneer!

In the follow up to his acclaimed album Reprise (may, 2021), which featured guests including Kris Kristofferson, Mark Lanegan, Jim James, and Skylar Grey, Moby reimagines and orchestrates fifteen of his most iconic tracks written or recorded in new york from the years 1994 to 2010, with guest vocalists including Gregory Porter, Ricky Wilson (Kaiser Chiefs), Margo Timmons, and Amythyst Kiah.

While many of the vocalists are household names, others are less familiar: Moby discovered P.T. Banks singing in a wedding band in Texas, while the elderly father of mesmerizingly soulful Danielle Ponder joins her on the remake of run on.

Credit: Moby

The music pioneer’s 20th studio album reflects perhaps the most defining era in Moby’s musical life, from his former home of new york city.

Moby was born in new york city, and began his music career playing in punk rock bands, and dj’ing at underground clubs in and around new york.

After dj’ing and touring live through the 90’s, in 1999 Moby’s breakthrough album play became not just a commercial success but a global phenomenon. he had already enjoyed hits with ‘go’, ‘feeling so real’, and his version of the ‘james bond theme’, and had been asked to remix everyone from michael jackson to freddy mercury, but the smash hit playchanged everything. as we entered a new millennium, he turned electronic music on its head.

“Before i discovered punk rock, i grew up with classic rock,” says Moby. “my first concert was yes at Madison Square garden in 1978. so it was super compelling revisiting my songs and seeing whether they held up with a more traditional, non-electronic, orchestral approach.”

Revisiting his past whilst reimagining his future has resulted in Resound NYC, an album packed full of thrilling music, a classic reworking of definitive and era defining songs, once again reminding us of the incredible scope and relevance of Moby’s musical talent. (the original version of when it’s cold i’d like to die recently featured in netflix’s stranger thingsfinale).

“An orchestra can be anything, it can be whatever the composer wants it to be,” Moby says. “so rather than having every song receive the same orchestral treatment, i kind of built a bespoke orchestral approach for each song.” 

With Resound NYC, Moby reconsiders not just the evolution of his own work, but also a time, a place, and even a transformation in our world:

“When you think of the ‘90s,” he says, “Bill Clinton was president; the rave scene was this utopian, idyllic world; the soviet union had ended; climate change was just an idea for a book that al gore was going to write. back then, making music was this celebration of the potential that our world had, that our culture had. and now it’s almost a refuge in an at times terrifying and apocalyptic world.”

Credit: Moby

Resound NYC

The release of his new album, Resound NYC, is scheduled for 12th may 2023 through Deutsche Grammophon, and today he shares new song “In This World” featuring Marisha Wallace. You can listen it here at the bottom of the article.


Resound NYC tracklist:

  1. in my heart ft. gregory porter
  2. extreme ways ft. the temper trap
  3. south side ft. rick wilson 
  4. flower (find my baby) ft. amythyst kiah
  5. in this world ft. marisha wallace 
  6. helpless ft. margo timmins, damien jurado
  7. signs of love
  8. perfect life ft. ricky wilson 
  9. when it’s cold i’d like to die ft. p.t. banks
  10. slipping away 
  11. second cool hive ft. oum, sarah willis
  12. hyenas
  13. last night
  14. run on ft. danielle ponder, elijah ponder
  15. walk with me ft. lady blackbird 


Upcoming Events


6LACK brought the ‘No More Lonely Nights’ tour to The Aztec Theater
RINGO STARR brought a magical night to the ACL Live at The Moody Theater
TESLA brought a night full of nostalgia and great rock to The Aztec Theatre
J BALVIN bringing the party to the whole world!
MORRISSEY announces shows in Las Vegas ‘Despite Recent Fiascoes’